Popcorn and Hand Grenades

We survived.

Our first week of home-schooling is behind us, and my son and I are still on speaking terms. I might even go so far as to say we’re both pretty thrilled.

We’ve been considering it for months, but finally committed to it in December. I didn’t tell a whole lot of people, because I was pretty overwhelmed at the mere thought of doing it. Defending the decision felt like a battle I wasn’t ready for.

I was worried that, because I’m not as organized as I’d like to be, my son and his schoolwork would suffer. 

That my lack of structure would cripple him. But we ended the week with a clean desk, a written record of everything we did, good grades and a strong desire to keep going.

A few (surprising) observations:

  • He inadvertently practiced persuasive speaking the other day while trying to convince me that Duck Dynasty is educational….
  • A broken microwave resulted in an impromptu science lesson when we popped popcorn on the stove…. the old-fashioned way.
  • He spent all week observing the ducks near our house in hopes that it would result in hunting successes. Along the way he taught me the nuances of placing decoys in pairs, near the hunting blind.
  • His online curriculum has included a lesson about “heat transfer in a car engine”… (much more practical than learning the parts of a flower if you ask me.)
  • We’ve  been watching the ducks in the morning while we jog for exercise. His musings about throwing the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch (from “Monty Python’s Search for the Holy Grail”) into the lake among the ducks led to a discussion of the Salem Witch Trials (also featured in the same movie…) It’s an odd progression, but a teachable moment nonetheless.
  • He had NO homework this week.
  • Duck Dynasty does, in fact, have some noteworthy lessons.

Ours can’t possibly be the only odd teachable moments out there…. right?

15 thoughts on “Popcorn and Hand Grenades

Add yours

  1. Congrats and welcome to the world of homeschooling! Everyday is filled with teachable moments if we only slow down long enough to see them. What a blessing that you made time. (And yes, Duck Dynasty definitely has noteworthy lessons- most notably dedication to God and family.)

    1. That really does seem to be the thing I’ve been missing, Susan… I didn’t slow down to notice. I’ve been in the habit of jotting down poignant moments for a while since I’ve been blogging, and now I’m writing things down all the time, presumably because I’m not missing them now. Thanks for your words of encouragement, and for taking the time to read and share my blog. 🙂

    1. Thanks girl! Seemed weird to me to be intimidated homeschooling Ryan, but to be completely comfortable teaching a classroom of other people’s kids without batting an eye. Wonder why that is??

    1. Don’t be too impressed, Kim… The beauty of our setup is that it’s all online, paid for by my Florida taxes, just like public school. All I have to do is keep him on track with his online classes. Curriculum is all there. It’s a perfect fit! 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  2. So proud of both of you. Sounds like he’s happy and also sounds like you’re making it interesting for him to learn.

  3. You’ve SO got this, woman. I think when the future at stake is your own child’s, the pressure is more intense, but who could possibly be better qualified than you?!? No one knows him better than you. Congrats & good luck!

    1. You’re so right, Maureen. And I think after three short weeks of homeschooling, I’d venture to say I know him even better now. And the same is true for him knowing me. We’ve both seen the good and the bad…. Thank God for unconditional love! 😉

    1. Thanks Brianna… I was thinking of you in my reply above about us learning more about each other. I’m likely learning things that you could have told me, having spent a year in the classroom with him. And I’m struggling with one student some days. So thankful for great folks like you who teach 20 of them for an entire year. ❤

  4. You are such an inspiration, Shannon! Chris may be interested in this this coming year. We are at least talking about it for a first time. I always said no before but you have made me think that maybe we can. Thanks for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

