Wring in the New Year

Because I don’t live in either my past or my future. I’m interested only in the present. If you can concentrate always on the present, you’ll be a happy man. ~ from The Alchemist

It seems a little predictable to spend New Year’s Day mulling the past and thinking about the future. I already spend way too much time doing both: I fret over the past and worry about the future. All to the detriment of the present. 

For military families, every day can feel like a race against the clock. With one eye on the calendar and the other on the clock, we fight to wring every possible minute from a day, because deployments are looming, and relocations are inevitable.

The danger for a family like ours is that we forget to enjoy where we are right now. It can become a constant process of recovering from the previous move and preparing for the next one. Or preparing for the departure of a spouse and then adapting to his return.

It’s difficult to be spontaneous when there is so much to plan for. And so the net result is that we also wring every ounce of spontaneity from our lives.

But today is a new day. And it’s a day ripe for change.

So tomorrow, we will leave on a road-trip, with no real plan for the day. We have nowhere to be until tomorrow evening, so we will meander that direction and see where the day takes us.

Not exactly the stuff of adventure novels, but a big step for a family like ours.

Happy New Year.

4 thoughts on “Wring in the New Year

Add yours

  1. Thanks, Carrie. We discovered on our trip that we have some deep-seated ideas about the need to plan. One of the kids almost developed hives when we embarked on our day without any set plans. But we made a little progress. Baby steps, right?

  2. Damn, girl, you’re reading my mind again…I told you about that!!! Not to sound resolution-y but I decided I’m taking charge of my life and not waiting around for various comings & goings anymore. I realized it sucked all the life out of my life. I’m not going to “what if” myself to death anymore & I’m going to try things I’ve always wanted to but was too scared I might fail or people might laugh. I’ll keep you posted on my progress. I want 2013 to be a year of more positive & less negative. Love & miss you!

    1. You and I are really so very much alike. Our family has embarked on a similar mission this year. Didn’t really intend for it to be a new year thing. Just a realization that the other way wasn’t really working so well. I got tickled, though, after I wrote this entry, because one of the kids (I won’t say who…. see if you can guess) almost got a case of hives during our road-trip because we didn’t have a plan in place. As we wandered through the French Quarter, we were hit with a barrage of “How long are we staying?” “Where will we go next?” “What are we having for lunch?” Seems that we have wired them to expect that we’ll always have a plan. Baby steps, right? Perhaps you and I should compare notes along the way.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

