Parenting

“Tonto, I’ve Got A Feeling We’re Not In Kansas…”

I’ve enjoyed the company of my youngest brother and his family this week. As we laughed about funny things we remember from childhood, it occurred to me that there are lots of funny and poignant moments that can get lost in a day if we let them. I keep saying I’ll start writing them down, but I haven’t done it yet, probably because I haven’t found an efficient system for doing so.

So I’ll start here, and this will be my jumping off point. Someday when my children are older, we’ll all have a good laugh (or cry) remembering these stories. With a little luck, this will be the first of many more collections.

These are some of the things recently overheard in our little corner of the world:

  • “Get your onomatopoeia right…” (My daughter to my son, who had chosen the wrong sound-effect for his story.)
  • “I’m on the phone. You have two parents. Go find the other one!” (This one needs no explanation. Every adult reading this understands.)
  • “My mom made me email Mark Zuckerberg to ask permission to have a Facebook account because I wasn’t 13 yet…” (True story.)
  • “Get your gun barrel out of my pancakes!” (To my son, who had brought one of his eleventy billion guns to the breakfast table.)
  • “Hey Mom, I need an opinion: the blue shirt or the red one? Blue? But I like the red one better…” (Then wear the doggone red shirt and quit asking for an opinion that you clearly didn’t need!)
  • “Mom, now that I’m 5 I’m gonna call you ‘Mom’ instead of ‘Mama’…”
  • “Hey Aesop, could you stop talking during the movie?” (To my son, who was in the middle of his third story. The whole episode convinced my daughter that you can’t watch a shoot-’em-up movie with men.)
  • “Please come get your gun off the dining room table.” (See gun barrel comment above.)
  • “Ewwww! You didn’t suck the gutter!” (A reference to cleaning off the soda that collects on the top of a soda can.)
  • “Tonto, I’ve got a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore…” (a flubbed reference to The Wizard of Oz.)

There are so many share-worthy conversations that go on in our houses every day. You likely have some great ones yourself. Write them down somewhere. Write them down here. Share them. If you already have a good system for capturing these moments, please share what you know with me. I, and others who are organizationally challenged like me, can use the help. Really.

Take time to appreciate the dialogue in your house among your family members. I’ll do the same. And when our kids are older and reminiscing, we’ll have all their cringe-worthy moments saved in print. (And the charming ones too.)

Standard

7 thoughts on ““Tonto, I’ve Got A Feeling We’re Not In Kansas…”

  1. Shannon – fabulous idea!! My sister has done something similar – writing down the funny/cute things her children said, mostly when they were very young (but @ 12 and 7, there are still plenty of funny comments). She has 2 notebooks – one for each of them. Often she would jot it down on a sticky note or somewhere else & then transfer them when she was able to take more time…

    I think I may have told you this story before, but a few years before my mom died, I read this fabulous idea in a women’s magazine. Write down 365 memories on individual slips of paper, one for every day of the year…give it as a gift to your mom (or dad or other loved one) in a beautiful container/box. I did this for my mom & it became one of her most treasured gifts! They even read them again the next year. My parents read their morning devotions together every day (yes, every single day, no skipping) and would read one of the memories at the end. (She also saved Christmas cards from friends & pulled one out each morning to say a special prayer for that friend too…boy she was something else).

    My mom loved the 365 memories so much, my sister created 365 more (though I fear we may have had a duplicate or 2 ’cause it’s a lot easier said than done to come up with that many memories!!). Even though mom is not with us anymore, dad still reads 1 memory every day after his devotional. Proof positive that fond memories…are…well…fond! And we never tire of them…thanks for your post. Sorry for rambling…I blather on a bit, huh? lol

    • Not blathering at all. Enjoyed your response more than you know. And I LOVE your idea…. Thankfully Bailey has a bullet-proof memory, so I just might be able to pull something like this off! Thanks so much for sharing such a personal memory.

  2. Kim Seipp says:

    Kim wennerberg that was BEAUTIFUL!!! Thanks for sharing! Shannon I must copy yours and Kim’s ideas! One funny thing I remember my bro saying to my parents “that is vulgate, very vulgate!” He was really trying to say vulgar so we said vulgate from that point on!

    • Maybe we can keep each other accountable Kim, so that we’ll really follow through on the idea! I’d love to have you as an accountability partner…

  3. Donna says:

    The kids and I did a similar “remember when…..” for my husband when he was deployed. He said he read “just a few” every night until he was home. It was especially interesting/funny to have the same memory recorded by three different kids – the varying perspectives on the same story were hilarious!

    • Thanks for your idea Donna. As one of my uber-organized friends, I have no doubt that the whole project was a breeze for your family. I love the idea though. What a cool thing for a deployed dad to have. Might have to call for pointers!

  4. I was just over at our commander’s house and saw that his children (ages 25, 23,22) gave him a framed print of all of their favorite family sayings for Father’s Day. I laughed until I cried reading them, and I didn’t know any of the stories behind them. I can only hope we are giving our children the same experiences and the enjoyment in their daily lives to want to write them down as treasured memories. Keep it up, girl!

Leave a Reply

